Prayers Going Up This Father’s Day

 

I’ve happily celebrated Father Day as a son, dad and grandpa, but this year is different. It is very different.  I live in Orlando, and our community recently has experienced three separate incidents of extraordinarily tragic deaths.

 

Twenty-two years old singer and vibrant follower of Jesus, Christina Grimmie, was shot while signing autographs after a concert. Her father later said, “We know she is with her Lord who she loved so much, but I have a hole in my heart for my daughter.”

 

The next day, a terrorist mercilessly took the lives of 50 people in a nightclub, the deadliest mass shooting in modern American history and the nation’s worst terror attack since the twin towers in 9/11.  A couple of days later, a two year-old was drowned by an alligator at Disney World as the father jumped in the lake to save his son.

 

Father’s Day for many of us in Orlando is different. As fathers’ mourn the loss of their children, there is a greater sense among us all though life is unpredictable; it is very precious. Our life is especially precious to our heavenly Father. In Psalm 139:13-18, David wrote:

 

“For you (Lord) created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made . . . Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious are your thoughts concerning me, God! How vast is the sum of them? Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand.”

 

Let’s pray for the fathers who suffered these tragic losses of their children. And fathers, enjoy the special day with your family!

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayers Going Up This Father’s Day

  1. Horace Ford says:

    AMEN, HOWARD.Annie joins me in sending to you our love & Blessings. Bob

    >

Leave a Reply

