4 Ways To Achieve Your Goals this Year

 

Goals

Have you already broken your New Year’s Resolutions? You’re not alone. A study found only 8% of people keep their resolutions for four weeks!

 

I don’t do resolutions, but I’ve learned how to make real progress on achieving important yearly goals by doing these 4 things:

 

  1. Identify Goals You Really Want to Achieve.

I break my goals down into 5 categories: Spiritual, Physical, Family, Work & Financial. For example, three of my Spiritual goals are to read through the entire Bible this year, to pray daily through my prayer list, and meditate on one different verse each week.

 

  1. Use numbers to follow your progress

Keeping track of numbers every day helps us stay on track! Here is how I use numbers to help achieve my Physical goals. I have yearly goals of walking 4 miles a day for 300 days, doing pushups 150 days, and lifting light weights 150 days. So, every day I record my progress. I let the numbers speak to me . . . if I’m falling behind, it motivates me to exercise even if I don’t feel like it.

 

  1. Review, review, review

The first thing I do Monday morning is to review the progress I’m making on my goals. For example, if one of your Financial goals is to pay off your credit cards, review how you’re doing. It may become apparent that you need to find a way to earn some extra money each week or cut back on some expenses to reach your goal.

 

  1. Have an accountability buddy

Finally, have a friend or maybe your spouse to mutually hold each other accountable on making progress to achieve your annual goals. Connect with each other once a month and be transparent with your progress.

 

If you do these 4 things, you’ll be so encouraged by the time December 31 rolls around. By God’s grace you will have accomplished important goals that will bring you closer to Christ and your loved ones, and helped you become financially and physically healthier.

 

Warmly in Christ,

 

Howard Dayton

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

