Submit to Christ

As I talked to a friend yesterday who is going through a challenging time, he reminded me of a basic biblical truth: The only way we can be spiritually productive is to submit to Jesus Christ as Lord and allow Him to live through us. In John 15:5, Jesus said, “I am the vine, you are the branches. If a man remains in me, and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

A branch can’t produce any fruit if it’s not connected to the vine. And for us it’s equally impossible to do anything of eternal significance if we are not yielded to the Lord allowing Him to express His life through us.

Jesus Christ is God. When He came to earth as a human, He fully yielded Himself to God the Father. Read what Jesus said about Himself in the book of John:

“The Son can do nothing of Himself” (John 5:19).

“I can do nothing on my own initiative… I do not seek My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me” (John 5:30).

“For I have come… not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me” (John 6:38).

“My teaching is not Mine, but His who sent Me” (John7:16).

Jesus’ unconditional surrender to God the Father gave His Father total freedom to mightily work through Christ during His short time on this earth.

So, how should you and I live in order to please the Lord and bear eternally valuable fruit? Let’s start by meditating on these passages from the life of Christ, and asking the Lord to give us a willingness to submit to Him in every area of our lives.

Then, let me recommend the best book, other than the Bible, I’ve ever read. Humility, written by Andrew Murray more than 100 years ago is short but will transform your life as it encourages us to yield to our loving Creator. I know. I’ve read it more than a dozen of times.

Warmly in Christ,
Howard Dayton

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Submit to Christ

  1. hcgramps@gmail.com says:

    Howard, Thank you for this post this morning. Your timing and God’s timing woke in us the very fact that we can do nothing alone…without submitting to HIM. Blessing to you and Bev. Annie & Bob

    >

  2. Charlsey Greenlee says:

    Howard, we enjoyed your Blog immensely! May we all remain branches to the vine…..healthy, alive, bare much fruit

Leave a Reply

