If two of you agree

A remarkable promise from the lips of Jesus found in Matthew 18:19-20 should energize our prayer life with a sense of boldness: “If two of you agree on earth about anything that they may ask, it shall be done for them by My Father who is in heaven. For where two or three have gathered in my name, there I am in their midst.”

Let’s look carefully at this passage:

• “If two of you…” (your spouse or a Christian brother or sister)

• “agree on earth about anything that they may ask” (Confirm it doesn’t conflict with God’s will as revealed in the Bible then fully agree together)

• “it shall be done for them by My Father who is in heaven.” (Jesus promises an answer by His Father.)

Is there something that you need the Lord to

accomplish? A child who is in rebellion, a financial need, a work related struggle? My wife, Bev, and I certainly have had a mammoth need this past two years: Her breast cancer spreading to her bones. Chemo and radiation and side effects.

Not only did we pray as a couple, but we realized there were many faithful people and couples praying for her together. By God’s grace, she is now in remission.

Get together with another follower of Christ and agree in prayer for something that you really care about, and wait for the Lord to act. He has promised to do so.

Gratefully in Christ,
Howard Dayton

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If two of you agree

  1. akosafab says:

    I want to thank God for all His kindness towards me and my family. However, these past two years it has been difficult to raise money to put my accident bus on the road the only source of income for me. I want you to kindly join me in prayer for am miracle for this situation.
    I ask this in Jesus’ ‘s name. With Thanksgiving. Amen.

  2. Bob Ford says:

    Thank you Howard for spreading God’s wisdom. We love you and Bev. Bob Ford

  3. Laurie Domiano says:

    Dear Howard: I heard a snippet of you on Moody radio today, and followed the link given to access your web site. While I will not totally walk from this site, I must admit I am a bit disappointed with the very first item I read about, when two or more of us are gathered together. First, the context of that verse is about church discipline. Second, the two or more refers to the witnesses one is to take along if the confronted does not agree with the confronter, one on one. We are then to take two or three others along, and if that doesn’t work, we are to bring the matter in front of the entire assembly. Last, using the verse out of context implies that He is not with us when we are alone, that we must have others around us. I do hope to find more careful interpretations as I peruse this site, but if not, I have no choice but to leave.

    Regards,

    Laurie

Leave a Reply

