Lessons from Target

Dear Friends,

The news from the second largest retailer in the country, Target, continues to get worse. Just before Christmas, Target disclosed that criminals hacked the credit and debit cards of about 40 million of their customers. Last week they increased that number by 70 million. And high end retailer, Neiman Marcus also reported a breach in their security so an undisclosed number of Neiman’s customers had their information hacked.

What should we learn from this?

  • The digital world in incredibly convenient, but it is risky. Paying for things using old fashioned cash, can be smart.
  • All of us need to scrutinize our credit and debit card statements every month to confirm that we are not victims of identity theft. Also, periodically visit AnnualCreditReport.com to check out your credit reports to make certain someone hasn’t hijacked your credit.
  • Limit the number of credit and debit cards you have to two. I recently talked to a caller on our MoneyWise program that had a couple of dozen cards. The fewer cards you have, the easier it is to stay on top of your finances, and limit the risk of hacking.

Let me share an update with you on my wife, Bev, and her fight with breast cancer that has spread to her bones. The new medication that she started a couple of months ago has some painful side effects. The most recent reared its head a couple of weeks ago. She has never had a cold sore in her mouth before, but now is loaded with them. This is extremely painful!

She continues to be remarkably resilient and fully trusting in the Lord. And her humor remains as well. She told me yesterday that she doesn’t need to pay to take botox to puff her lips . . . the medication has done already accomplished that.

I’d be VERY appreciative if you would continue to pray for Christ to completely heal her. Thank you!

Warmly in Christ,

Howard Dayton

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lessons from Target

  1. Michael Saner says:

    Praying Howard and Bev- God bless!! ❤

  2. Evelyn says:

    Praying for your wife, Howard. May you remember and cling to Romans 8:28 during this trial.

  3. I really enjoy your ministry and listed on my drive home from work at 3:30PM here in Pennsylvania on Radio WJSA-FM. I just read this post and since the Target scare and cancelling my credit/debit card I have been using checks at Wal-Mart/K-Mart/Grocery Stores/etc. Are checks safer to use than credit/debit cards. I do use some cash but don’t feel comfortable carrying around more than $50.00 or so.
    Also I do pray for Bev and all of you at Compass.

  4. Kathleen Hoff says:

    Thank you as  always Howard.  My prayers are unending for Bev and I will specifically pray about the awful mouth sores.  My heart constantly goes out to her.

  5. Rene says:

    Hey Howard, I was listening to the radio yesterday about working from home opportunities. I jumped online today and I don’t see anything on this site that mentions “work from home”. Please advise. I did take the Career IQ assessment though. Turns out I’m a Supporter.

  6. Jenny says:

    My prayers are with Bev. My parents always use cash when they shop and they happen to shop at Target often. Now I see the good sense in their advice to me. Thankfully, I had not shopped there during that time and I will be a cash shopper from now on.

Leave a Reply

