Bev – Cancer Update

Dear Friends,

The past week has been among the happiest of my life! For the past five months, my wife, Bev has battled breast cancer that spread to her bones. Bev has experienced excruciating pain almost every day . . . until last week.

The pain in her ribs, hip, and back had been diminishing, but her knee then flared up, and she could not walk unaided. An MRI determined that it was not cancer, but a torn meniscus – thank our Lord! Last week we went to an orthopedic surgeon to have him examine the MRI and schedule surgery.

When Larry Burkett was fighting his renal cell cancer, he used to tell me, “Howard, there’s a big difference between doctors who were at the top of their medical school class and those at the bottom of their class. Get a smart one. The Lord did just that by bringing us, Dr. Mintzer, who works on million dollar knees as the orthopedic physician for the Orlando Magic basketball team. He took one look at Bev and told her she didn’t need surgery and that he didn’t need the money from the surgery.

She left with one quick shot to the knee, and 12 hours later was pain free.

Bev and I want to thank all of those of you who have prayed for her complete healing. We cannot adequately express our gratitude. Really. But, please don’t stop! Her oncologist is very encouraged, but said that he would not know for certain if the bone cancer is under control until he does some scans in late December.

To our great, kind, and loving Christ, be all the glory.
Howard

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bev – Cancer Update

  1. Adriana says:

    What an amazing post. So inspired by the work that the Lord does in your life daily. Thank you for letting him use you in every circumstance.

  2. Debbie Nichols says:

    PRAISE THE LORD!!!! Thank you for this encouraging letter!! I will keep praying… ~ Debbie Nichols *And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. (Galatians 6:9)*

  3. Ron Smith says:

    So thankful to read such welcome news! Praying familiar verses (2 Cor 1:4-5 and John 9:3) over you guys. A dear friend’s teenage son has MS from oxygen deprivation after falling into a pool when he was 2 or 3. He loaned me “Brokenness” by Lon Solomon. Thank you for the updates. Continued thoughts and prayers!
    Ron Smith

  4. Michael J. Saner says:

    Wonderful news! Praise God!

  5. Cynthia Robinson says:

    Continue to pray for you and Bev. Love you, both!

  6. April says:

    Thank God for relief and a wise physician. Will continue to pray .

  7. Howard, that is wonderful news. Thank you, Lord for the encouraging answers to the prayers of your saints – the priesthood of believers – for Bev’s healing and Howard’s encouragement. Continue to work powerfully, as you always have, through these treasured friends! Amen! Our love, Doug & Pamela

  8. Kathleen Hoff says:

    We will NEVER stop praying!  Thank you for sharing the great news and for the advice I will take to heart about doctors.  God is good.

    ________________________________

  9. hcgramps@gmail.com says:

    Dear Howard, Thank you & Compass for keeping us updated. For a change, we are sending you our love and God’s Blessings for a Happy Birthday. I know it’s not a celebration time, but Annie and I thank The Good Lord for you and Bev, and know He is faithful and loves you both. Bob

  10. Dear Howard and Bev, I will of course pray for your complete healing.. I know firsthand what an awesome thing this is to face. I recommend awmi.net and the school of healing there.. Andrew Wommack has a book called “God wants you Well” which will bless you and strengthen you…I have been watching, following, Andrew and Jamie’s ministry for many years and I know you will be Blessed and Refreshed by this ministry.. There is none like it that I have found in my many years of searching..1st Peter 2:24b says “by whose stripes ye were healed”. I pray the testimonials, the documented Miracles of healing I myself have witnessed over the years, will bless you as they have me.. In His Love, Marianne Johnston

  11. Anatoliy Musiyenko (Ukraine) says:

    We are with you, standing in prayers for Bev!!!

  12. Phil says:

    I listen to your radio talk show every day in Massachusetts on my trip home from work. I alway seem to pick up some of God’s wisdom through what you guys talk about. Over 30 years ago I started listening to Larry Burkett and his leadership and guidance has helped me out throughout my 35 years of marriage. My thoughts and prayers are with you and Bev that God would make her totally whole and welll as he intended for her to be. May God be with you both through the crosses you have experienced. I will intercede for you both,
    Phil

Leave a Reply

