Bev Cancer Update & Larry Burkett 10th Anniversary

Dear Friends,

I want to bring you current on my wife’s progress in fighting cancer and reflect on the tenth anniversary of Larry Burkett passing away July 4th.

BEV: on Wednesday we met with her radiologist who has an excellent reputation. We really liked him! He confirmed that her breast cancer has metastasized to her bones and told us that it is located in many more spots than we previously had been told.  The hormone medication that she started taking five days ago should be able to control the cancer – Lord willing!

He prescribed 15 radiation treatments in the pelvis area (5 treatments a week for 3 weeks) starting on Monday. When we asked about the side effects, he responded, “The only side effect you should have is becoming pain free!” She will also receive an intravenous medication that is intended to strengthen her cancer weakened bones. Her bones have been so damaged that Bev is severely limited in what she can do for exercise because of the risk of bone fracture.

We continue to be blown away at the outpouring of support and prayer on Bev’s behalf! Thank you is such an inadequate word for the gratitude we feel toward all of you standing with her. She remains completely at peace, snuggled in the love of Christ, clinging to His promises and comforted that “We adore you [Lord] as being in control of everything” (1 Chronicles 29:11). God is the ultimate micro-manager – intimately involved in every area of our lives. What a magnificent revelation.

LARRY BURKETT: It doesn’t seem that is it possible that it’s been ten years since I received that 3:00 am call from the hospital that Larry Burkett had passed away and gone home to be with the Lord he loved so deeply.

In early 2000, I was a guest on Larry’s radio program and during the program, the Lord impressed on his heart that we should merge the two ministries. I will never forget when Larry came to visit our leadership team to discuss the merger, he stood with his hands clenched I said, “My greatest fear in life is standing before Jesus Christ someday and hearing Him say, “You held on to the ministry too tightly.’ So, I’m opening my hands and inviting you to lead our ministry.”

We merged ministries later that year. Larry’s vision was to use radio and the internet for what he called “financial evangelism” – teaching the multitudes God’s way of handling money. Then, to use small group studies in church for “financial discipleship” – teaching the few deeply.

Steve Moore, Larry’s co-host for almost 20 years, and I are honored to continue Larry’s legacy on the radio and the internet. The Lord has brought Compass outstanding staff and volunteers to serve countless churches around the globe. Please pray for the Lord to bring us the right people and adequate resources to continue to fulfill Larry’s vision of “financial evangelism and discipleship.”

Warmly in Christ,

Howard Dayton

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Ministry News, Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bev Cancer Update & Larry Burkett 10th Anniversary

  1. Hi Howard,

    Thank you so much for your heart for ministry and the updates in your personal lives. I am praying for you both and the ministry passion you have as it relates to finances. I attended the Advisors with Purpose conference last October where you were a speaker and have become very intrigued with the Stewardship message in the past 3-4 years. I am incorporating this into my business as much as possible and speaking this message in local church’s when the opportunity is available. I am trusting God for more ministry opportunities in the future as in relates to Biblical finance. You don’t know me at all but i wanted to let you know that you have been an encouragement to me.

    God Bless you and Bev on the journey, you are in my prayers.

    Lorne Robinson CFP, CLU, CHS, B.Th. Financial Planner Credential Financial Strategies 2 Herald Ave, Corner Brook NL

    709 634 0405 (O) 709 640 8678 (C)

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. awesome living life with you and Bev

  3. Kathleen Hoff says:

    Thank you for being so faithful both to this wonderful ministry and to your wife.  You are a tremendous encouragement to all of us who listen.  Very encouraged by this update on Bev and praying daily with you.

    ________________________________

  4. ruthwdstck@aol.com says:

    DEar Howard. Please refer to the email I sent last week if you or your staff hasn’t deleated it. I am a retired radiation oncology nurse and the information was vital, however if you choose to deleate it. I am sorry and I won’t bother you again.

    ruthwdstck@aol.com

  5. Adriana Brooks says:

    We continue to pray for Bev and your family! We have been teaching Crownfinancial Bible studies for 16 years and have witnessed the various transitions. We have always been impressed by your sincere and humble love for The Lord. So glad to see that your original vision, along with that of Larry Burkett, continues through your new organization. Always in prayer for this ministry that changed our lives 17 years ago.

  6. Brenda Cyrus says:

    Please know that Bev is in my prayers everyday. My God is still in the miracle working business and this is what I am praying for….A MIRACLE IN BEV’S LIFE. Your ministry is such a blessing to me and has been instrumental in leading me in the right direction in how to handle my finances. Thank you again and God Bless Bev during this trying time and may she be lifted up by His presences.

  7. jennifer Linger says:

    I am praying for you. Thanks for all you do. Jennifer Linger, LMHC

    PS. I refer many of my clients to your website.

  8. rkeller@brownduck.com says:

    Howard, Thanks for the update.. My wife’s cancer was discovered in 2007.. My brother’s wife’s cancer was fought twice. My mothers cancer was in 2008.. All three are doing great.. I pray that for you and Bev.. My brother , a doc, said it best. ” When someone in the family has cancer, THE FAMILY has cancer “. as Babby Mason would sing Pray On !! rk

  9. Paul and Trudine Smith says:

    We are so glad that Bev remains in peace with our Lord over the current circumstances! That is a blessing to us as she walks by faith and remains steadfast in her focus on Jesus, rather than on her circumstance. Praying for you Howard and Bev!

  10. Paula K Smith says:

    I have you both on our church’s prayer chain. I just have a suggestion for you, Howard. Please do not say “Bev’s cancer.” You are her spiritual covering and you do not want to assign this insidious disease to your precious wife. Refer to it as ‘the cancer (or disease) that is attacking her’ or the difficulty we struggle with, but do not call it HERS! I know you don’t mean anything by it, but the demons take every idle word and use it to their advantage. I love you both and am praying……Jesus is Your Healer! Zephaniah 3:17

  11. Tim Krauss says:

    wonderful news Howard. Pray for healing and total restoration

  12. Sharon guth says:

    I don’t know how many years I’ve listened to Larry Burkett and Howard Dayton on LifeTalk Radio (via a translator) that is beamed into The Dalles, Oregon. I listen to the radio all day long and even though we’ve never met, Larry and you have become friends. I remember the day I learned that Larry Burkett had passed away–it is hard to believe it has been that long. I cried because a friend was gone. My thoughts and prayers are with your wife, Bev, and you and your family as you go through this time, and that God will indeed work a miracle.

  13. rick says:

    Can you explain where on the web site I can download the 7 steps to financial freedom you talk
    about on your show.
    thanks so much
    rick

  14. Sherry Elmer says:

    We will pray for Bev and all your family as you go through this trial. We are very grateful for you and your ministry.

    Jeff and Sherry Elmer

Leave a Reply

