Update on Bev

First of all, my wife, Bev, and I want to thank so many of you for praying for her health after she was admitted to the hospital for what the doctors suspected was breast cancer metastasized to her spine.

After five days in the hospital and five comprehensive tests including a bone biopsy, the oncologist still believes her breast cancer has spread to her spine and both sides of her pelvis. We are scheduled to meet with him on Monday to learn the results of the bone biopsy.

We are praying that it isn’t cancer, however, if it is, the best case would be for it to be the breast cancer that only is affecting the bone. The treatment for this would be taking a pill that is very effective. If it is a different type of cancer, the treatments can be more difficult.

Despite the uncertainty and the waiting, we have felt an amazing sense of God’s peace. This is rooted in recognizing the love and faithfulness of Christ, and fertilized by your prayers. God’s people from India to Asia to Europe and of course, America, have been praying for us. We cannot thank you adequately for your kindness in our hour of need.

I received great counsel from my closest long-term friend, Tim Manor, that what we were going through should be viewed as a marathon rather than a sprint. So, don’t become discouraged if we receive news that is difficult.

We also received great encouragement from our friend, Steady Cash, who ten years ago was told by his doctor that he had weeks or months to live, not years. And there was nothing medically that could be done to defeat his cancer. Steady began reading the Bible for hours each day to gain God’s perspective. The Lord impressed on him four passages. Two were promises of God, one a testimony, and one a bold expression of faith.

 Promise of God: “My son, give attention to my words; Incline your ear to my saying. Do not let them depart from your sight; keep them In the midst of your heart. For they are Life to those who find them and health to all their body” Proverbs 4:20-22).  “Delight yourself in the Lord; and He will give you the desires of your heart” (Psalm 37:4).

A testimony of the Lord’s faithfulness: “Lord my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me. You, Lord brought me up from the realm of the dead; you spared me from going down to the pit” (Psalm 30:2, NIV).

A bold expression of faith: “I will not die, but live, and tell of the works of the Lord” (Psalm 118:17).

May the peace of God which surpasses all understanding guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus!

Love in the healer, Jesus!
Howard Dayton 

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Ministry News, Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update on Bev

  1. featherfall77 says:

    Praying for Bev! God is great! Let me also suggest reading about Gerson Therapy. All natural nutritional healing. You sound like such a great supporter and sometimes that is all that is needed for anyone to heal!

  2. Beverly Price says:

    I continue to lift Beverly and your family up in Prayer to be able to meet the emotional challenges faced. I cry for your wife as she battles with the knowledge. God has Plans. He knows already what the outcome is before you. Trust Him. Jeremish 29:11 Beverly Price I am a person that has only known Lord as Savior just a few years even though I received Him as a Teen. He is Lord over everything. He has Plans for good.

  3. Kathleen Hoff says:

    Thank you for the update.  I’ve been praying and wondering.  Thank you ever so much for the encouraging portions of Scripture that speak right to my heart too.  You can be sure I will pray for Bev every single day.  I have been praying without ceasing throughout every day!

    ________________________________

  4. Allison Wiley says:

    I just prayed for Bev that the hand of God will be upon her and keep her from feeling pain and heal her.

Leave a Reply

