Laryngitis

Dear Friends,

I thought I’d made it through the flu season without even so much as a sniffle, and then . . . last week got a nasty bug. And with the bug came the unexpected—laryngitis! I still have it!

This week I missed recording our MoneyWise radio program and will miss speaking in Mexico at a Compass conference led by our Latin American Director, Andres Panasiuk. Around the home it’s much quieter with me speaking to Bev in a faint whisper and using sign language. I think she’s enjoying this. 🙂

Despite these inconveniences and not just being able to pick up the phone and call a friend, the Lord is using this for good. It has forced me to be quiet. Today, I am finally began to realize how fast paced my life has been during the past couple of months . . . too hectic! The Lord is kindly using this to get my undivided attention. He is telling me to slow down. Rest more. Pray more. Just enjoy His presence more.

Be more grateful for the many gifts He has given, including the gift of speech and hearing. I feel a little like a monk that practices silence in a monastery. And, guess what, this has helped re-calibrate my priorities, and I am thankful.

How about you? How are you doing, really doing, in your walk with Christ?

Love in Jesus,
Howard Dayton 

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laryngitis

  1. Eileen Johnson says:

    Howard,
    Sorry to hear about your laryngitis. I teach piano and one of my students came with the same “bug” – she could only whisper (and she loves to talk!). A close friend also got the same thing. It does go away, but takes time. Praying for you.
    Eileen Johnson

  2. Sharyn Riggs says:

    Amen! I love your attitude! I too have found myself, in times past, in such a position – the “L” curse! But like you mentioned, I too echo your sentiments. I found the Father has a gentle way of reminding us to keep Him first, keep silent (Zachariah), and yes, REST won’t kill me! Lol.

  3. I trust you will heal soon. Rest as much as you possibly can. Grateful for your ministry. I recently met with Bill Wade and what a treat it was. I am enjoying a lot serving the small group in our area and I know God will do amazing things through it. Be well. god Bless you richly!

Leave a Reply

