Update from Howard 5.21

Dear Friends,

“Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap it if we do not grow weary.” –  Galatians 6:9

New England has the well-deserved reputation of being a spiritually challenging area—some would even say a spiritually dead area. But I am so pumped up by what the Lord is doing in this part of the country. On Saturday, I had the opportunity to speak at Iron Sharpens Iron men’s conferences in Worchester and Hudson, Mass.  About a 1,000 men attended and the Spirit of God clearly was present and moving in the hearts of these men.

I believe that Compass is playing a key role in what I pray, is the beginning of a revival in New England. Our New England Executive Director, Yvonne Mitto, has been a gift from our Lord. A native of Jamaica, Yvonne is an extraordinarily godly and capable person. A growing number of people have joined her who are passionate about teaching others God’s way of handling money.  The outstanding Blount Radio Network carries our half hour MoneyWise throughout much of New England.

I’m flying out of Boston as I write this blog, and what strikes me is the size of this major metropolitan area with its millions of people. I am deeply saddened. My heart is breaking as I realize most of them do not know Jesus Christ as their savior. They are destined to live separated from Christ throughout eternity in an indescribably dreadful place . . . unless we pray and encourage the work of Christ in this area.

I pray that you’ll join me and Yvonne and her team is praying for God to open many hearts to be receptive to the message of Christ and His way of handling money.

God bless you,
Howard

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Ministry News, Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update from Howard 5.21

  1. Joann says:

    I am so encouraged to hear about the great response to the conference.
    New England is steeped in natural beauty and has a great history of Godly men and women who paved the way for our nation. I will also be praying for a great revival. I did an internship in N. York state many years ago and I know that the cost of living in the area was high then! I know that your ministry will have a great impact. Thank you.

  2. J and G says:

    We live in Massachusetts. Believe me we face the challenge of a contaminating, spiritually dead culture and some Christians who have bought into the values and beliefs of this area. We have been here since 1979. While we feel we have done much for the Lord, using our gifts as given, many days, it feels like we are backpeddling. That said, we pray for strength each day to keep the light burning.
    A question: My husband will retire from teaching the end of this school year and we have pretty much decided to sell and move from here to an area with a lower cost of living. Many believe that we are headed for economic collapse if Obama is elected. Should we try to sell our home before the election? Not sure where I should have p osted this for the radio program. .Please advise. God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

