Update from Howard 2.27

Dear Friends,

Last week on the MoneyWise radio program, Jane, one of the callers had a question we all grapple with from time to time. She was clearly feeling stressed out when she said, “I have a really big decision to make. I only want to do what the Lord wants me to do. But how can I be sure to get His direction.”

I completely understood where she was coming from. Fortunately, when it comes to getting the Lord’s direction on the BIG DECISIONS, there are four we should do and one responsibility that God has retained. First, what we should do:

  1. Pray often about the issue. If you are married, pray together daily as a couple. If you are single, pray daily with a small group of friends. The Lord is pleased when there is agreement in prayer concerning an issue. Matthew 18:19-20 says, “If two or you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my father in heaven. For where two or three come together in my name, there I am with them.”
  2. Spend consistent time reading the Bible. I’ve discovered on my really BIG decisions, that more often than not, the Lord will use a verse to confirm His direction. Before you start reading, ask Him to speak to your heart.
  3. Seek counsel from godly people. Proverbs 12:15 says, “The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but a wise man is he who listens to counsel.”  If you’re married, your first counselor should be your spouse. Get counsel from as many respected godly people as you’re able.
  4. Wait. Don’t be in hurry to force the decision or just make a guess. Be patient because often the Lord is waiting until in our hearts we say to Him, “I don’t care what direction you want for me. I am willing to do whatever you make clear.”

When I was in the real estate development business, because the projects were large and expensive, I wanted to make sure that Christ wanted me to do a project before I started. . . since my financial future huge in the balance! On average it took about 6 months before He revealed His direction. It required patience and perseverance to wait that long.

But here’s what is really freeing: It’s God’s responsibility to reveal His direction. It’s not our responsibility, it’s His! We’re to be faithful to pray, read the Bible, seek counsel and wait. God’s job is to reveal His direction in His timing.

Warmly in Christ,
Howard

____________________________________________________________

Howard Dayton is the Founder and CEO, Compass – finances God’s way. For more information about Howard, please click HERE.

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update from Howard 2.27

  1. jim boisvert says:

    i believe god is testing me in finances specially savings and i love giving i need help what god says about money and spend wisely looking for a good book to help me out and i know i been blessed with lots of overtime and i been tested in this area many times which i am struggling with. i was rasied to spend and save a little need to change thanks

Leave a Reply

