Walk By Faith

Dear Friends,

Do you know of a command in the Old Testament that the Lord gave the children of Israel that they never obeyed? It was a command in which they would experience amazing blessings if they obeyed and terrifying curses if they disobeyed.

Leviticus 25:1-5 records the command, “The Lord said to Moses, ‘Speak to the Israelites: When you enter the land I am going to give you, the land itself must observe a Sabbath to the Lord. For six years sow your field and, prune your vineyards and gather the crops. But in the seventh year the land is to have a rest, a Sabbath to the Lord. Do not sow . . .do not reap what grows.”

God knew they would concerned about how they were going to survive in the 7th and 8th year when they were not harvesting a crop, so Leviticus 25:21 records God’s stunning promise: “I will send you such a blessing in the sixth year that the land will yield enough for three years.”

Amazing! Think about this: If they obeyed, the Lord promised he would send such a bumper crop that they would have enough to eat for three years! Then, for 13 verses God list fabulous blessings for their obedience and for 29 verses, terrifying curses for their disobedience of this command. Unfortunately, they experienced the curses.

Well, how does this apply to us today? Let’s face it, sometimes Jesus asks us to obey Him by stepping out in faith. He will challenge us to “walk by faith, and not be sight.” When you read the Bible, often God’s people are called to do something that seems pretty bizarre. “Joshua, walk around Jerico 7 times , blow the trumpets and the walls of Jerico will fall down.” “Peter, get out of the boat and walk on the water.” The list goes on-and-on.

What’s He calling you to do today that requires real faith that is out of your comfort zone? I have my test of faith, and it has caused me to cling to the Lord and His promises. What’s yours and how are you responding?

Love in Jesus,
Howard
____________________________________________________________

Howard Dayton is the Founder and CEO, Compass – finances God’s way. For more information about Howard, please click HERE.

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Walk By Faith

  1. Sharon Choiniere says:

    Thank you, Howard for this post. It makes things clearer for me to do what I feel called to do. It isn’t bizarre but definitely out of my comfort zone. I felt my faith rise within me to do something I was beginning to feel inadequate about as I have never done anything this important. My church is a missions minded church and I have been asked to become the Missions Director. There is much to do and may be time consuming at first as I learn all the many things of this ministry, but suddenly I really feel that I can do this, so thanks again. It was God times information!

  2. Lee says:

    Howard, If I sold a property that I owned because I lost my job, do I have to claim the whole amount of the sale on my taxes even though I have only received part payment on it?

  3. sara says:

    Where do you find out about your financial counselors ?

  4. Michael A. Neil says:

    I am trusting the Lord to provide and meet all my needs, as He has promised to do in His Word. However, I am perplexed about the pros and cons of drawing social security benefits as soon as possible at age 62, as some recommend, or waiting until full retirement age at 66, as others recommend. What is your take?

  5. Solomon Israel says:

    I was listening to the broadcast today and was wondering when the day might come that I would be impressed by my own announcement of leading a debt free lifestyle and most important to me, reaching the goals that God has instore for me and my loved ones, but first “tithing” is a very integral variable to this end and this I know for certain. I just wanted to thank you for your efforts and energy focused on this most important subject.
    I pray and ask for continued success for you and your family.
    Thank you for this ministry and may God bless you, one and all.

  6. Marc says:

    I find that what is even more amazing about this disobedience is that for Israel to survive without famine the first time they hit the 7th year, God would have had to provide them with His promised blessing the first time the 6th year rolled around. In other words, God would have already shown them He’s carrying out His part of the bargain (not that that should have ever been in doubt), yet the sabbath year for the land was still not observed. And not to take the focus off our responsibility today, I feel that we often do the same, where we have already seen God provide us with blessings yet we still say, “Thanks, Lord, but no thanks.”

Leave a Reply

