This Too Shall Pass

Dear Friends,

“This too shall pass”. . . lessons learned by a kidney stone survivor.

I shared earlier the beginning of my adventure with kidney stones. On Thanksgiving, just before the turkey dinner, I found myself doubled over with abdominal pain. My wife, Bev, and daughter, Danielle, quickly drove me to the St. Augustine Hospital ER where they discovered I was the proud possessor of an 8 x 4mm kidney stone—one that was too large to pass. Oh, joy!

Next Monday, I was scheduled for a procedure to break up the stones into smaller fragments, which with the help of a stent would be able to pass. The doctors kindly prescribed lots of pain medication and for the following 15 days, I passed lots of stone fragments and took a lot of the pain killers. The doctor then removed the stent and told me there was one remaining 3mm stone left. My sister kept emailing me asking if I was still “stoned”!

I was not able to do much at all for almost a month other than rest and reflect. So, here are some of the big lessons the Lord was teaching me:

1.       I am so thankful to the Lord Jesus Christ for His timing, in this challenging event. In fact, His timing it always perfect no-matter-what. I’m grateful is didn’t happen a week earlier when I was in India or on the 22 hour plan trip home. I am also thankful that the Lord allowed medical technology to improve so much recently—25 years ago it required major surgery.

When we trust in the Lord’s timing, we can be content and at peace with our circumstances.

2.       Because I was unable to do much during the adventure, I spend a good block of time reading the Bible. If you want to grow closer to Christ, nothing is more important than spending time in God’s word and praying. I’ve led 60 small group financial studies and in each of them the participants answer the question: Do you regularly read the Bible? My observation is that only 15 percent of Christians spend consistent time in the Scriptures and most of them are faithful women.

My challenge to you is simple: Make it a priority to invest time in God’s word daily

3.       I realized anew, that life is fragile, unpredictable and short! Eternity is loooooooong. So, if you aren’t certain that you know Jesus Christ personally as your Savior, you can settle that right now, by praying for Him to come into your heart and forgive your sins. If you ask Him to come into your life, He will! This is the single biggest decision you’ll ever make.

4.       About 12% of men and 5% of women experience kidney stones. More than half of those who have had kidney stones get them again. One of the most effective ways to avoid them is to drink lots of water! So, drink up! 🙂

Well, the good news is that “This (the last fragment) will pass”, and it did!

Love in Christ,
Howard

____________________________________________________________

Howard Dayton is the Founder and CEO, Compass – finances God’s way. For more information about Howard, please click HERE.

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Too Shall Pass

  1. Howard:

    Not only should you drink lots of water, but also avoid ice tea, coffee, etc. if your stones were acidic. If possible ask doctors if your stones were acidic or alkaline (Milk, etc).

    Steve

Leave a Reply

