Great Kidney Stone Adventure

Hope you enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving!

The Daytons certainly had an eventful one. We were in St. Augustine, Florida, visiting my daughter Danielle and her husband Kyle, when I was rushed to emergency room because of abdominal pain—sadly, before we ate the turkey! 🙂

The Cat Scan revealed a large kidney stone had begun its journey down the urethra. At 8 millimeters, it is too large to pass. And my brother who has three kidney stones about the size of BBs, reminded me that they are not smooth like a BB, but more like a sandspur  . . . oh, goodie! That’s more than I needed to know.

Whenever we are faced with challenges—whether they are sudden and unexpected or chronic, there is always much the Lord is trying to teach us. Here’s what I’ve learned or been reminded so far of on my “”Great Kidney Stone Adventure.”

First, even in the midst of difficulties, Jesus Christ is kind and will demonstrate His care for us. I am sooooo thankful to the Lord that this didn’t happen 10 days ago when I was in India or on the 22 hours flight home! The ER staff at the St. Augustine Hospital could not have been more gracious and professional . . . and the nurse had even graduated from our small group study. I felt like a “rock” star . . . pun intended.

When we returned home, we emailed friends asking for recommendations for a skilled urologist. When we arrived at the large urology practice, guess who I was assigned to . . . one of the four doctors that had been recommended!

The second big lesson is a reminder that life is short and fragile. Psalm 39:4-6 says it this way, “Show me, O Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting is my life. You have made my days a mere handbreath; the span of my years is as nothing before you. Each man’s life is but a breath. Man is a mere phantom as he goes to and fro. He bustles about, but only in vain; he heaps up wealth, not knowing who will get it.”

May we make our few short years on earth count for the kingdom of God.

I’d be grateful if you’d please pray that my “Great Kidney Stone Adventure” will end soon.

Love in Christ,

Howard Dayton

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Howard and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Kidney Stone Adventure

  1. Bill McClung says:

    Are you sure it was not Kyles cooking? Glad that God put you in the right place at the right time and you healing story can begin.

  2. God says:

    Slow down Howard. Love, God

Leave a Reply

