Jealousy

“You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God…”

Exodus 20:5

I always love it when I come across scripture that describes God with emotions that I experience. It affirms in me that my relationship with the Lord is just that- a relationship. It’s a real relationship- with peaks and valleys and with strengths and weaknesses and with a variety of emotions.

As I came across this verse in Exodus it made me realize how often I probably make the Lord jealous. The biggest way I do this is through lack of contentment. When wants suddenly phase into needs. Before today I don’t think I ever thought of God being jealous. But for some strange reason, I like it. I like that I have a relationship with a God who cares and loves me enough that when other things become a priority over Him it truly affects him.

Jealousy is an emotion that I have never been too fond of experiencing personally. It stirs up suspicion, rivalry, and resentment. If I don’t enjoy feeling this way, I’m pretty sure God doesn’t either. I have learned over the years that the antidote for jealousy in my life has always been gratitude. The more grateful I am for God’s provision in my life, the less jealous I become and the less jealous He becomes. I always love a win-win situation!

I pray that you experience the Lord in a great way this week and with a spirit of gratitude for all He has done for you and yours!

God Bless, Kyle

_____________________________________________________________

Kyle Hasbrouck is the Vice President of Compass – finances God’s way. For more information about Kyle, please click HERE.

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Updates from Kyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

