Thoughts from a Bike Ride

I just finished a twenty mile bike ride on my new Land Shark. It is blue and white, I bought it used, and so far…I’m loving it! Recently Marcia caught me just staring at it in the garage. Then she kindly reminded me “not to make it an idol.” Yes, dear.

Steve and his Land Shark

I ride because I enjoy it, it helps keep my weight and cholesterol numbers in check and now that Lance Armstrong has retired…maybe team Radio Shack will call?

However, these days when I ride I also think about the time it takes and that the benefits it provides are only temporary. Regardless of how well I take care of my body, ultimately this shell has a limited lifespan. And the activity of bike riding (at least for me) has very little eternal value.

This week on MoneyWise, Howard Dayton and I were discussing leaving a legacy. A legacy is much more than just leaving an inheritance. It’s the statement you make after your death about your existence on the planet; what you accomplished, who you were, what was important to you and how you impacted the people and society around you.

But while you are still alive, there are two things that shout to the world who you are now; how you spend your time and how you spend your money. If you look at a person’s checkbook you can easily find out what is most important to them. It is just as Jesus said in Matthew 6:21, “where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

So if keeping the electricity on at home is a priority you’ll see it right there in the ledger. If you value getting regular oil changes, there will be evidence of that. If you just had to have a new set of wheels to go with that new bicycle…that may be there as well.

So, I guess I’m starting to become more aware of my own mortality and the eternal things I am going to leave behind. And the best way to insure a legacy you’ll be proud of and God will be pleased with…is to manage well the only two things that we really have any control over, our time and our money.

Thankfully God has promised to help us manage both…just ask Him. “For if any man lacks wisdom let him ask of God, who gives to all men generously…” (James 1:5)

And call me if you’d like to go for a ride sometime.

Steve Moore

_______________________________________________________________

Steve Moore is the Executive Producer and Co-host of MoneyWise. For more information about Steve, please click HERE

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Steve's Corner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts from a Bike Ride

  1. Eric Adetifa says:

    This is just a blessing to me. God’s Word is so clear but you have made it even more clearer.
    God Bless and keep it coming. Nice bike by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

