Shame Closet

My shame closet – No More!

Last night I didn’t sleep well. I never do after I have run 3 or more miles. The arthritis in my toes flares up & causes shooting pain in both my feet. My usual remedy is Acetaminophen, but last night it didn’t work. God wanted my attention! I have often said that I am trying to grow more like Jesus and during last nights wrestling with God, He showed me why this is so difficult!

You see I have a habit of re-living some of my past shortcomings – read sins. I have been known to share these publicly with friends to demonstrate my connection with people of the world. There is, most often, an underlying pride issue going on at this time. Most of these shortcomings revolve around my hockey exploits and the fights I’ve never lost!

God reminded me last night that He comes against the proud! – 1 Peter5:5

He has made it known that I am to take off the old man, like I take off a coat, and never desire to put it on again – Ephesians 4:22-24. Yet I keep going to my ‘shame closet’, finding that old coat and pride fully putting it on!

Last night’s wrestling was painful and frightening! No more ‘shame closet’. No more old coats!

As Jesus lives through me there is no reason to live that way! If I will boast I will boast in Him! – 2 Corinthians 10:17

Prayerfully,
Dave

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Thoughts from Dave and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

