Awake My Soul

“In these bodies we will live, in these bodies we will die Where you invest your love, you invest your life”

-Mumford and Sons- “Awake My Soul”

I’ve never been much of a music guy. I like music and can appreciate a good song or artist, but it isn’t something I generally gravitate to. So when my best friend told me a few months ago about this new up and coming band, I humored him by listening to the album he had downloaded. The band was Mumford and Sons and the song was called “Awake My Soul”. I have no idea where this band is at spiritually but I can tell you that God used this song to speak to me in a great way.

Danielle and I had recently bought a new home and were unknowingly getting caught up in the whirlwind of “needing” new stuff to fill our home. The more we focused on the things we “needed” the less we focused on the one we truly needed. But God has incredible and unique ways of helping us focus or re-focus on Him. In this case He used my buddy Kevin, an I-pod and a song from a band very few folks had heard of (at that point). When I heard the lyrics “In these bodies we will live, in these bodies we will die, where you invest your love, you invest your life” I instantly felt a wave of conviction. It was time re-evaluate how and where we were spending our time and resources. We were trying to serve two masters and scripture is pretty clear about how that will turn out (Matthew 6:24).

This is why Compass- finances God’s way exists. To help people serve the one and true master. Just about everyone in our country is bombarded multiple times with the message of materialism on a daily basis. The only way I have been able to defeat materialism in my own life is through the application of God’s word- fixing my eyes on the eternal prize rather than the temporary things of this world. This is what the Compass Small Group studies do.

In a few weeks we will have two new small group  studies – Money & Marriage and Navigating Your Finances God’s Way. There is incredible life change that can take place when people are in a small group environment: being loved and cared for, studying and applying God’s word and faithfully praying for each other. The distraction of materialism doesn’t appear to be going away anytime soon but we know that we have God’s word to combat it. I would encourage you to join the fight against materialism and help people (and yourself) experience the Lord in an incredibly intimate way by prayerfully planning on being a part of one of these small group studies.

In His grip of grace,

Kyle

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Ministry News, Updates from Kyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awake My Soul

  1. Bill McClung says:

    Thank you for that reminder of what is important. As a person who hears God speak to me in songs a lot, I look forward to hearing this song now.

Leave a Reply

