Steve Moore

Five weeks ago, to the day, I received a hasty email. Steve Moore, my close friend and co-host of the Compass half-hour call-in radio program, MoneyWise, was going in for unexpected heart by-pass surgery.

If anyone was not a candidate, for what turned out to be quintuple by-pass, it was Steve Moore. Steve often rides his bicycle more than 25 miles a day and is lean and in great shape.  For the past 22 years, Steve has been the extraordinarily talented co-host of this program—first with Larry Burkett and then with me. He is not only extraordinarily gifted at his profession, he is an ardent follower of Jesus Christ . . . and did I mention Steve is a hoot to work with. He is so much fun!

Today was his first day back on the job, and we were a pair! Steve, recovering from his major surgery, and me from my week-long bout of laryngitis.

Steve often bikes with a group of riders, some of whom do not yet know Christ as their savior. He has shared with them how they can come to know Jesus as their personal savior, and several of them have responded, “That’s fine, but I’ll think about it later. I’ve got plenty of time to make that decision.”

Steve told me that once the pain in his heart went from mild discomfort to serious pain, he didn’t have the ability to do anything. He was so overwhelmed with pain and the struggle to survive that he couldn’t even tell his wife Marcia at his side that he loved her. There would no opportunity for any of his unbelieving biker friends to even think about asking Christ into their lives.

If you are reading this blog, and you are unsure you have a relationship with Christ; if you are not certain you will spend eternity in heaven with the Lord, I want to encourage you to settle that right now. No, that’s not strong enough. I challenge you not to reject Jesus Christ, rather, to ask Him to come into your heart as your savior right now.

You can by praying a prayer similar to the one I prayed 42 years ago. “Dear God, I need you. I ask Jesus Christ to come into my life and forgive me of my sins. Thank you for loving me, and thank you for the gift of your Son. Amen”

If you have prayed that prayer, it’s the most important decision you will ever make. Welcome to the family of God. Let a follower of Christ know of your decision and become connected with a vibrant Bible teaching church.

The great news for Steve, is that his doctor has given him at least another 20 years! The plumbing in his heart is in really good shape, and he will start biking (slowly) tomorrow.

Please join me in thanking the Lord for Steve and praying for his complete recovery.

Warmly in Christ,
Howard Dayton

About Compass - finances God's way

Compass—finances God’s way, is a worldwide non-profit interdenominational ministry that teaches people how to handle money based on the principles of the Bible.
This entry was posted in Ministry News, Thoughts from Howard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Steve Moore

  1. Beverly Price says:

    God’s timing is exact! Praise HIM for your friend’s successful By-Pass and Recovery!
    Your email regardng Steve Moore came to provide encouragement of recovery not just for Prayer for him but also to make us aware of HIS presence. We will lift Steve up in Prayer for continued Blessings on recovery, strength, leadership and prosperity.

    Early this morning, I received call from Cleveland Clinic(Ohio) to inform me, Amanda Altalibi,22yrs. young, will meet with the Vascular Surgeon, Dr. Daniel Clair and Dr. Goldblum, Anatomical Pathology, on April 4th for tests prior to her 4th Reconstructive Heart Surgery.

    It is not about us, but acknowledgement of how small our world is and how God links HIS family together to lift up and encourage others thru one another. Praise the name of Jesus, the hands of the surgeon and Gods’ righteousness! Isaiah 41:10 Our HOPE is in HIM!

  2. Beatrice Sweitzer says:

    thanks Howard. I was wondering about Steve, and what happened to him! If you had said anything on the program, I missed it.
    Glad to know that Steve is better. I sure did miss him on the program

  3. April says:

    Hope Steve is well

  4. Mary T mcguire says:

    So happy to hear of Steve’s recovery ! I always enjoy his sense of humor and quick wit. You both are a great team. I was elated to hear your voices on the AIR again. Mary

  5. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by
    searching for congenital heart disease

Leave a Reply

